It’s Time to Complain

Posted: December 19, 2010 in Thoughts

My name is Nader and I am 23 years old. I came to Gaza at the age of 6, started my education journey here and I am graduating from the university this semester inshaAllah.

First off, allow me to introduce myself in words. I am passionate and ambitious, a computer geek and talented in almost everything I do and/or know. I have an all around awesome personality, and truth to be told, I barely complain.

When I go though hardships, I am just one of those rocks you can never break. But when I can’t take it anymore, and I said it before, I complain like a b**** because when I do that I am more like a volcano exploding throwing fire balls every where.

“You’re time’s up, my time’s NOW!” A few minutes ago, my angry explosion was triggered, and don’t ask the reason why!

I have been holding this within my chest since I ever stepped foot in Gaza in late 1993. All of this has been accumulating, growing bigger by the minute to the fact that I can no longer take it anymore. I managed to hold my ground and face all the kinds of hardships I face as a special case of a person with the fact of being Gazan, but the thing that everybody keeps forgetting is that I am a human being too, and I have feelings. So if you don’t/can’t understand that, just walk away and stop being so pathetically sympathetic with us Gazans.

I was only 6 years old when I first experienced depression. A feeling absolutely like no other, a feeling that u can actually either get over or live with, and to be honest, it’s sad knowing that there’s no third solution to this.

I belong to an extended family with 7 uncles and 3 aunts spread around the world, each and everyone (including my father of course) is married with kids, which results around 40 sons and daughters, and I am the oldest! And when you’re the grandson the elders expect you to do everything forgetting about your origin as a human being.

“You’re time’s up, my time’s NOW!” Yes you heard me. O’ dear life, would you sympathize for once and be easy for a second? O’ Allah please grant me what I have in mind, PLEASE!

Being a Gazan is a lifetime hardship. moreover, it’s more of a curse if you on a second thought. Some of you would think that you can’t buy happiness, and truth to be told, in Gaza, everything is possible as long as you can afford paying for that, and best of all, it’s 100% genuine and guaranteed!

On the other hand, if you don’t have money, AND/OR don’t have and relatives who work somewhere sensitive from which they can help you get out of here or even don’t know someone who can help you with that, allow me to tell you that you are forever doomed. One thing of which I am sure is that in Gaza we do have favoritism, just like the rest of the corrupt world, but what’s worse is that it runs here like this “It’s about who you know, not what you know.”

Being a Gazan means that you forever will suffer and live in terror fearing the fact that you might not go back home because an Israeli missile would fall any time any where and you would be one of the victims along with the tangos.

Being a Gazan means that you forever will live only 7 hours with lights on and 17 hours without, besides the fact of having to drink non-fresh water, and having to deal with piles or endless troubles and stuff here and there till you need another hand and a leg!

Thanks for reading. I really needed to write this time.

Nader K.

Comments
  1. Anas Hamra says:

    Life in Gaza ! .. what can i say bout .. may Allah help us .. we need miracles to get out from these troubles and matters ! .. we did as best as we could for saving Gaza .. of course by you, me an all good people we can say .. so back to the beginning and saying again and again “We Need Miracles!”

    By the way dear Nader, really great words buddy .. hope to see the change as soon as we can

    best regards to best bro,

  2. Anas Hamra says:

    hahah .. don’t be silly .. lady’s first ah hahaha😀

  3. yorikirii says:

    Hey Nader – great blog post (It’s time to complain) – can imagine that it’s not easy to live in Gaza, day by day, without a prospect for parole… – sorry that I can’t do more but giving my thoughts and my support to you – at least mentally I’m there. See you, Buddy.🙂

  4. Haitham Al-Sheeshany says:

    Nice deep post.
    Mr angry🙂

    H.

Leave a Reply

