Dear Insomnia, God Damn you!

Posted: October 19, 2010 in Thoughts

Dear Insomnia, God Damn you!

Dear Sleep, I Miss you, I Need you. Please come back😦

According to Wikipedia: Insomnia is is most frequently defined by an individual’s report of sleeping difficulties.

According to my personal experience: Insomnia is a life ruining habit, a killer, and it wears you down.

I have been suffering from Insomnia for years now. They say that late doses of caffeine  keep one awake. If you were addicted to caffeine, what would you do?

As an Arab, coffee is essential! whether it’s a morning coffee, post-lunch coffee, or a night-out coffee. I drink it whenever possible, but i avoid excessive doses though.

Anyway, you’ll need an energy shot from time to time, but not the way i do! what i do would kill you so soon and nobody wants that.

Suffering from insomnia for years now made me reach new levels of it, i sometimes stay awake for more than 3 days on a row, no naps, no nothing. on top of that, it happens that i go to the gym and workout for 2 times and i’m still awake and not even close to being sleepy or tired!

Some people think that this is crazy, others think i should go to the doctor see what’s wrong with me thinking that i have sleeping difficulties. Well, I’ve been to a few and they all couldn’t come out with a healing answer. “weird”, “strange”, “bla bla bla”, are words I’m used to hear from these doctors.

What bothers me the most is that i don’t benefit from staying awake at night at all. all i do is listen to boring music, read boring articles, and keep checking my twitter time line every now and then.

Even though i tried looking for medication or any kind of solution for this, but all what’s proposed has merely failed.

Insomnia is my day nightmare.

Dear Insomnia, God Damn you!

Nader K.

Comments
  1. Sam says:

    Consciously choosing to ingest that much of caffeine means that it’s you the one choosing the damn insomnia !
    You’re having a serious problem that will, on the long term, exacerbate your complaints and drive you to developing constant fatigability, hang-overs and maybe hypertension !
    You should give priority to your health …
    As for seeking doctors, am one and am telling they will be of no help.
    Just try to regulate your sleep pattern and train your biological compass, cut the caffeine and work on your breathing !
    I looked for a supplement called Melatonin that is miraculous in boosting one’s sleep and alertness …. but had no luck finding any in Gaza .. so, if you’re serious in getting rid of the problem, try the conventional path !

    Nice piece ..

  2. Hello Nader,
    I came across your blog and this was the 1st thing I read. Well, it suits the title of your blog “sleepless in Gaza”..
    I am sorry you suffer from insomnia. I totally agree with Sam. Hope this comment find you well. Good-luck.

    Cheers.

  3. Hello Nader,
    I came across your blog and this was the 1st thing I read. Well, it suits the title of your blog “sleepless in Gaza”..
    I am sorry you suffer from insomnia. I totally agree with Sam. Hope this comment finds you well. Good-luck.

    Cheers.

Leave a Reply

